Credit: Eric Bannwarth

The flying program

Registration: F-AZZK

Base: Antwerp

Owner: Rick van der Graaf

Created in 1943, the Yak-3 entered service in 1944.

Although powered by the same engine as the Yak-9, it was lighter, smaller, easier to fly and to take in hands even for beginners. It excelled in close combat, especially at an altitude of less than 12500 feet. In June 1944, an air battle between 18 Yak-3 and 24 German planes resulted in a 15-1 score in favour of the Russians!

In December 1944, the famous Normandie-Niemen regiment was reequipped with Yak-3: They owed them their last 99 victories (out of 273). Stalin offered each pilot of the "Neu-Neu" the Yak-3 he personally used, in appreciation of the services rendered. Their return took place on 20 June 1945 and 38 copies were obtained by France.

Since 1991, the Yakovlev factory had built new Yak-3 based on the original planes. It is also with one of these modern Yak-3U PW that the world record speed for a piston plane of less than 3000 kg was established on October 10, 2011 in the USA, reaching the speed of 655 km/h on a course of 3 km.

Piloted by Rick van der Graaf, its owner, this Yak-3 is powered by a Pratt & Whitney R-2000.

Crédit : Eric Bannwarth

Tout le plateau aérien

Immatriculation : F-AZZK

Base : Anvers

Propriétaire: Rick van der Graaf

Créé en 1943, le Yak-3 entra en service en 1944.

Bien que propulsé par le même moteur que le Yak-9, il était plus léger, plus petit, plus facile à piloter et à prendre en mains même pour des débutants. Il se montra excellent en combat rapproché, surtout à une altitude inférieure à 12500 pieds. En juin 1944, une bataille aérienne opposant 18 Yak-3 à 24 avions allemands se solda par un score 15-1 en faveur des russes !

En décembre 1944, le célèbre régiment Normandie-Niemen fut rééquipé avec des Yak-3 : ils leur devront leurs dernières 99 victoires (sur 273). Staline offrit à chaque pilote du “Neu-neu” le Yak-3 qu’il utilisait personnellement, en remerciement des services rendus. Leur retour eut lieu le 20 juin 1945 et 38 exemplaires furent ainsi obtenus par la France.

Depuis 1991, l’usine Yakovlev construit de nouveaux Yak-3 d’après les plans d’origine. C’est d’ailleurs avec un de ces Yak-3U PW modernes que le record du monde de vitesse pour un avion à pistons de moins de 3000 kg a été établi le 10 octobre 2011 aux USA, atteignant la vitesse de 655 km/h sur un parcours de 3 km.

Piloté par Rick van der Graaf, son propriétaire, ce Yak-3 est motorisé par un Pratt & Whitney R-2000.