The genesis of the meeting

Melun-Villaroche: A mythical aerodrome

On the plateau of Villaroche, in the village of Montereau-sur-Jard, North of Melun, Prefecture of Seine-et-Marne, a field of aviation was seeing the light of day at the beginning of 1939 on a domain of 137 hectares. Planes – Salmson Cricri, Morane 138, Caudron Luciole – which came from the site near Crisenoy-Fouju, settled in two hangars. When the conflict broke out, a Potez 631 twin-engine squadron settled and had to share its field with Albert Moreau Aero-Club where there was a military flying school and the night hunting was in charge to protect the Parisian region.

Credit © Dassault Aviation - Rights reserved
Credit © Jour de France

Melun-Villaroche was successively occupied by the French, German and American armies. The Luftwaffe settled on 1 June 1940 for four years. The Germans, as early as 1941, started building two concrete runways (East-West, North-South) each measuring 1 600 meters, equipped with parking spaces in order to exploit Junkers Ju 88, then ju 188. The airfield is bombarded regularly. The Germans evacuated on 22 August 1944, leaving room for the Americans with North American squadrons. At the end of the year 1944, the land will be assigned to the Technical and Industrial Aeronautics Directorate (TID). For several months, Messerschmitt Me 262 equipped with Junkers Jumo 004 reactors had been stored on the aerodrome before being sent to the United States.

In addition, the base is best known for the numerous tests of civil and military prototypes that took place there until the beginning of the 1980's, in particular those of several planes Mystère, Mirage, Etendard, planes with vertical takeoff Balzac (which gave its name to the Balzac Area where the aircraft was tested in vertical flight), etc., from Dassault Aviation. Other aircraft manufacturers assemble their new equipment such as Breguet Aviation (Jaguar, Taon), René Hirsch, René Leduc, Morane-Saulnier (MS 755 Fleuret Paris), Potez Aviation (Potez 840, Potez 75) SNCAN (North 2500 Noratlas, Nord 262, Gerbe, Nord C160 Transall, Griffon), SNCASO (Vulture, swordfish, Trident, Aquilon) (1).

At the end of the year 1946, the aerodrome benefited from the construction of buildings and hangars in the north of the slopes then the control tower. In december 1947, this aerodrome received the flight tests of the Snecma – Safran Aircraft Engines today – previously based on the Vélizy-Villacoublay airfield. The Safran Group's engine Division also wrote aeronautical pages there by assembling military thrusters such as the M53 (Mirage 2000) or the M88 (Rafale), as well as the range of civil reactors CFM and Leap, which are the most produced engines in the world. , equipping among others the Airbus A320 and the Boeing 737.

On February 28, 1948, Colonel Constantin Rozanoff opened the airfield to the jet aircraft by taking off for his first test flight, a Dassault Hurricane equipped with Rolls-Royce Nene engines.

He unfortunately died on 3 April 1954 during the presentation of a Mystery IV following a failure of the flight controls.

In the 1980's, the slopes, 60 meters wide and 2 800 meters long (today 1 972 m) for that oriented East-West and 2 400 meters (today 1 300 m) for that oriented North-South, allow the landing of planes of which landing mass is 60 tonnes. This aerodrome, for a long time under the authority of the Directorate General of Armaments (DGA), dependent on the Ministry of Defence, became the responsibility of the Ministry of transport in January 1982. The flight tests were transfered to Brétigny and then to Istres and Cazaux to flout the constraints of air traffic in the Paris region.

Credit © Dassault Aviation - Rights reserved

Transferred in 2007 by the State to SYMPAV (Mixed Syndicate of the Villaroche Activity Center), the aerodrome, open to public air traffic, is used by a centre of the Directorate General of Civil Aviation, the Aero-Club of Melun-Villaroche "Constantin Rozanoff", Aero-Sotravia, maintenance workshops, and collectors of ancient planes. Among the preserved planes, a DC 3 that flies regularly in meetings or travels, sheltered in historical hangars, designed by Eiffel, one can also discover a Hurel-Dubois HD-34 characterized by its wing with a large elongation of 46 meters. Junker 52, Mystery IV, Lysander, Skyraider, Tiger Moth, Nord 1101, T-6, Broussard Seaavion Latécoère 28, Stormovick and many other planes that still complete the fleet of the association which is animated by Didier Chable and some former pilots and mechanics of the Flight Test Center.

A collection of engines of all types and elements of various devices (Blériot XI, Messerschmitt Me-109, Farman 40, V1...) is also stored. Engines lovers will however find on the other side of the East-West runway another Museum, the one where the Safran Group maintains the memory of its ancestors Gnome & Rhône, Snecma, Hispano-Suiza, Sagem, Sep, Renault aviation.

The aerodrome is currently developing business aviation in the East of Paris in addition to the Bourget, Pontoise and Toussus-Le-noble. It is envisaged to host fifty business aircrafts per month on average within one to two years. Since April 2013, a "handling" company (airport reception and assistance) Elyxan, is installed there and a heated hangar of 2 400 m2 can accommodate a dozen jets.

(1) A reference book, History of the Aeronautical Centre of Melun-Villaroche by Robert Lamouche at the Éditions Puits Fleuri.

La genèse du meeting

Melun-Villaroche : un aérodrome mythique

Sur le plateau de Villaroche, bourg de la commune de Montereau-sur-Jard, au nord de Melun, préfecture de Seine-et-Marne, un champ d’aviation voit le jour début 1939 sur un domaine de 137 hectares. Des avions – Salmson Cricri, Morane 138, Caudron Luciole – venus du site proche de Crisenoy-Fouju, s’y installent dans deux hangars. Avec l’arrivée du conflit, une escadrille de bimoteurs Potez 631 s’installe et doit partager le terrain avec l’aéro-club Albert Moreau, terrain où sont aussi implantées une école militaire de pilotage et la chasse de nuit chargée de protéger la région parisienne.

Crédit © Dassault Aviation - Droits Réservés
Crédit © Jour de France

Melun-Villaroche a été successivement occupé par les armées françaises, allemandes et américaines. La Luftwaffe s’installe le 1er juin 1940 pour quatre ans. Les Allemands, dès 1941, vont construire deux pistes en béton (est-ouest, nord-sud) mesurant chacune 1 600 mètres, équipées d’aires de parking afin d’exploiter des Junkers Ju 88, puis Ju 188. L’aérodrome est régulièrement bombardé. Les Allemands évacuent le 22 août 1944 laissant la place aux Américains avec des escadrilles de North American. À la fin de l’année 1944, le terrain sera affecté à la Direction technique et industrielle de l’Aéronautique (DTI). Pendant quelques mois, des Messerschmitt Me 262 équipés de réacteurs Junkers Jumo 004 seront stockés sur l’aérodrome avant d’être envoyés aux États-Unis.

En outre, la base est surtout connue pour les nombreux essais de prototypes civils et militaires qui y ont eu lieu jusqu’au début des années 1980, en particulier ceux de plusieurs avions Mystère, Mirage, Etendard, avions à décollage vertical Balzac (qui donna son nom à l’aire Balzac – là où l’appareil fut testé en vol vertical), etc., de Dassault Aviation. D’autres avionneurs y assemblent leurs nouveaux appareils comme Breguet Aviation (Jaguar, Taon), René Hirsch, René Leduc, Morane-Saulnier (MS 755 Fleuret Paris), Potez Aviation (Potez 840, Potez 75) SNCAN (Nord 2500 Noratlas, Nord 262, Gerfaut, Nord C160 Transall, Griffon), SNCASO (Vautour, Espadon, Trident, Aquilon)(1).

À la fin de l’année 1946, l’aérodrome bénéficiera de la construction de bâtiments et de hangars au nord des pistes puis de la tour de contrôle. En décembre 1947, cet aérodrome recevra les essais en vol de la Snecma – Safran Aircraft Engines aujourd’hui – basés auparavant sur l’aérodrome de Vélizy-Villacoublay. La division moteurs du groupe Safran y écrit aussi des pages de l’aéronautique en y assemblant des propulseurs militaires comme le M53 (Mirage 2000) ou le M88 (Rafale) mais aussi la gamme des réacteurs civils CFM et Leap, les moteurs les plus produits dans le monde, équipant entre autres les Airbus A320 et les Boeing 737.

Le 28 février 1948, le colonel Constantin Rozanoff ouvrira la voie de l’aérodrome aux avions à réaction en décollant pour son premier vol d’essai, un Dassault Ouragan équipé de moteurs Rolls-Royce Nene.

Il trouvera malheureusement la mort le 3 avril 1954 lors de la présentation d’un Mystère IV suite à une défaillance des commandes de vol.

Dans les années 1980, les pistes, larges de 60 mètres et longues de 2 800 mètres (aujourd’hui 1 972 m) pour celle orientée est-ouest et 2 400 mètres (aujourd’hui 1 300 m) pour celle orientée nord-sud, permettent l’atterrissage d’avions dont la masse à l’atterrissage est de 60 tonnes. Cet aérodrome longtemps placé sous l’autorité de la Direction générale de l’armement (DGA), dépendant du ministère de la Défense, passera en janvier 1982 sous responsabilité du ministère des Transports. Les essais en vol avaient migré à Brétigny puis à Istres et à Cazaux pour s’affranchir des contraintes de la circulation aérienne en région parisienne.

Crédit © Dassault Aviation - Droits Réservés

Transféré en 2007 par l’État au SYMPAV (Syndicat Mixte du Pôle d’Activités de Villaroche), l’aérodrome, ouvert à la circulation aérienne publique, est utilisé par un centre de la direction générale de l’Aviation civile, l’aéro-club de Melun-Villaroche « Constantin Rozanoff », Aéro-Sotravia, des ateliers de maintenance, et des collectionneurs d’avions anciens. Parmi les avions conservés, un DC 3 qui vole régulièrement en meeting ou en voyage, abrités dans des hangars eux-mêmes historiques, conçus par Eiffel, on peut aussi découvrir un Hurel-Dubois HD-34 caractérisé par son aile à grand allongement de 46 mètres. Junker 52, Mystère IV, Lysander, Skyraider, Tiger Moth, Nord 1101, T-6, Broussard Hydravion Latécoère 28, Stormovick et bien d’autres appareils encore complètent la flotte de l’association animée par Didier Chable et de quelques anciens pilotes et mécaniciens du Centre d’Essais en Vol.

Une collection de moteurs de tous types et d’éléments de divers appareils (Blériot XI, Messerschmitt Me-109, Farman 40, V1…) est également entreposée. Mais les fanas de moteurs trouveront de l’autre côté de la piste est- ouest un autre musée, celui où le groupe Safran entretient la mémoire de ses aïeuls Gnome & Rhône, Snecma, Hispano-Suiza, Sagem, SEP, Renault Aviation.

L’aérodrome développe actuellement l’aviation d’affaires dans l’est parisien en complément du Bourget, Pontoise et Toussus-le-Noble. Il est envisagé d’accueillir cinquante avions d’affaires par mois en moyenne d’ici un à deux ans. Depuis avril 2013, une société de « handling » (accueil et assistance aéroportuaires) Elyxan, y est installée et un hangar chauffé de 2 400 m2 peut accueillir une dizaine de jets.

(1) Un ouvrage de référence, Histoire du centre aéronautique de Melun-Villaroche de Robert Lamouche aux éditions du Puits Fleuri.